Pacific Centre For Judicial Excellence

The Pacific Island Countries Centre for Judicial Excellence was formed from the amalgamation of activities under the Papua New Guinea Centre for Judicial Excellence (PNGCJE) and the need for Judicial Education and Training Programs for the pacific Islands developed within the Pacific.

Since the inception on PNGCJE in 2010 it was envisaged that it would build on judicial programs domestically and then extend to the Pacific Islands placing emphasis on their specific requirements.

PICCJE has been developing in three phases namely the strengthening on the institutional capacity on PNGCJE which includes establishing professional staff, arranging transitional requirements and the transformation on PNGCJE to become PICCJE.

PICCJE plays an integral part in assisting the judiciaries in the Pacific region in building capacity through structured training programs for judicial officers, Judges, Magistrates, Court Officers and officers in the Law and Justice Sector.

The countries represented in the Pacific Islands Region include Cook Islands, Fiji, Federated States of Micronesia, Kiribati, Marshall Island, Nauru, Niue, Palau, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.